• Blake Mittan, Chair

  • Kelly Blanc

  • Kerry Castellani

  • Mary Fong

  • Jennifer Grenbeaux

  • Darrel James

  • Sunshine Letsinger

The purpose of the Elections Committee is to ensure the integrity of the MTA electoral process. The Elections Committee is charged with ensuring that elections are conducted in a fair and impartial manner in accordance with CTA guidelines. Due to COVID-19, we will be utilizing Simply Voting.


The following MTA offices on the Board of Directors are declared open for nomination:

  1. 2nd Vice President (2-year term)

  2. Recording Secretary (2-year term)

  3. Junior High Director-at-Large (2-year term)

  4. High School Director-at-Large (2-year term)

  5. Two (2) CTA State Council Reps (3-year terms)

  6. One (1) Alternate CTA State Council Rep (3-year term)

The NOMINATING PROCEDURE is by Open Nomination—any MTA member may nominate any other MTA member, including himself/herself, using the Declaration of Candidacy form (button below), which must be returned to the MTA office no later than 5:00 PM, Friday, February 19, 2021.


This year the California caucus and NEA Representative Assembly will be held in Denver, CO--or virtually--from Thursday, July 1 through Tuesday, July 6, 2021. All delegates (state and local) to the NEA Convention must be elected by a vote of NEA members. Our chapter has been allocated 11 local delegates and 11 successor delegates. Any MTA/CTA/NEA member in good standing is eligible and may be a local delegate candidate by filing a Declaration of Candidacy form (button below) with the MTA office no later than 5:00 PM on Friday, February 19, 2021.

Both elections will be held from Thursday, March 4 through Friday, March 12, 2021. Voting will be done online using the Simply Voting platform. The results of the election will be shared with the candidates and the membership.

MTA BOD Officer Election Results:


Doug Burton – 395

1st Vice President

Darrel James – 421


Steve McEwen – 417

Elementary Director-at-Large

Angela Martinez – 418

CTA State Council Rep (1 position)

Kelley Blanc – 361

Kevin Quiñones – 84

CTA State Council Alternate (2 positions)

Gladys Williams – 324

Robert Plencner – 347

NEA Rep Assembly Election Results (up to 9 are elected):

Miriam Caro* – 365

Gladys Williams* – 333

Kevin Quiñones – 323

Robert Plencner – 322

*Top two vote-getters are elected to a 2-year term

Congrats to the elected candidates, and thank you to those who voted!